RANT: McDonald’s Milkshakes

21 Oct

All I have to say is… What happened?

I am by no means a McDonald’s connoisseur, but I feel as an upset customer I should say something. A couple of weeks ago my mom and I decided to treat ourselves with Milkshakes, (we would get them as a treat when I was younger) so she ordered a strawberry and I got the vanilla. I know, plain Jane. We were excited, despite the new clear plastic container with McCafé and a cherry printed on the outside… What does a cherry have to do with my milkshake?

So we get to the window (drive-thru) and the guy asks, “Do you want whip cream and a cherry on your milkshakes?” Whip cream and cherries? Why would I want whip cream and cherries on my already sweet milkshake? If I wanted a gourmet shake I wouldn’t go to McDonald’s. We frown, glance at each other and quickly shake our heads.

“They don’t want it either.”

My mom gives me a puzzled look and says to the window guy, “I guess the whip cream isn’t popular.”

“Nobody wants it.”

When we get our milkshakes we see the new clear containers and in the light my “vanilla” milkshake looks like a caramel yellow; my mom swears her milkshake is cherry but they don’t have cherry shakes… My milkshake tastes like super sweet butterscotch. We chalk it up to one bad experience.

Until the next week… When we decide to stop at another McDonalds to get a burger. When we get to the window to get our order, “Would you like a free milkshake?” Uh, yeah.

BUTTERSCOTCH. It has no vanilla flavor to it at all. I don’t know if this is a Cleveland thing but my mom and I would like to say, McDonald’s, you’ve failed us. For the few times we do go, we’re excited, and now, we won’t be buying milkshakes from them anytime soon or in the future.

2 Responses to “RANT: McDonald’s Milkshakes”

  1. Kourtney Heintz October 21, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    I hate when they mess up a classic. I’m still angry about the healthy baked apple pie. It’s gross. I loved that crispy heart attack in a box. Why McDonald’s Why?!

    • Loren Chase October 21, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

      I didn’t know they changed the apple pie! All of my favorite artery clogging foods… This makes me sad. At least I know I’m not the only one who feels this way!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

